The Revenant – Review

It’s a brutal watch, with a few look away moments. The now infamous scene of the bear attack was uncomfortable to say the least, even more so than the rape and killings that are sporadically dotted about in this film. It was wonderfully shot with some breathtaking scenery, amazing job by the DP (that’s short for Director of Photography for you muggles out there).

 Other than the compelling visuals it was had a very basic storyline, the Film title gives away most of the plot (go and look up what Revenant means, come back and finish reading my review).

Grunting aside, the dialogue was simple. But to be fair, at that time in American history I suppose the wasn’t a whole lot of “fancy tawkin”. It did however in some bits border on pulling lines directly from Yosemite Sam in the Looney Tunes cartoons ( I was really hoping for someone to throw in a “Varment” or “critters” somewhere, but alas no).

The director, Alejandro G Iñárritu, puts together an entertaining film about one mans sheer willpower to live against all odds (which DiCaprio delivers in a very strong performance. Even making it believable he could speak a native North American dialect.)

I would recommend this as a something to watch if you are feeling lazy and don’t need an over complicated film to watch.

I give this 8/10⭐️

*No bears were harmed in the writing of this review (I could kill a bear, really, if I wanted to. I just don’t feel like it right now.)

Leave a comment